Cannot install db46 on Mac OS X


Hello everyone,

A few weeks ago I updated my MacBook Pro to OS X 10.6.5 from scratch, however it took me a while before getting everything back in place. I updated Xcode to the latest version and didn’t have any trouble until some days ago when I wanted to install ImageMagick via macports. The error I was getting was something like an error while trying to install db46. It took me quite a while, surfing through the web and reading a bunch of crap, before I came to a solution. There it is,

First go to:

/opt/local/var/macports/build/<db46-download-dir>/work/build_unix/Makefile

You have to change the permission on the file “makefile” for the admin to be able to read and write. You can do this in the finder, right-click->get info ->enable the lock ->change privilege to “read and write”

Then open the Makefile with the texteditor and modify the following line:

Before:

CPPFLAGS= -I$(builddir) -I$(srcdir) -I/opt/local/include

After:

CPPFLAGS= -I$(builddir) -I$(srcdir) -I/opt/local/include -I/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Headers

Save the file and try again sudo port install db46, it should work flawlessly.

5 thoughts on “Cannot install db46 on Mac OS X

    • You should try first to install db46, “sudo port install db46″ if it gives you an error then it does try to produce the makefile so it should be there. If it installs without problems, then you shouldn’t have any inconvenient installing imagemagick. Hope this helps.

  1. You should try first to install db46, “sudo port install db46” if it gives you an error then it does try to produce the makefile so it should be there. If it installs without problems, then you shouldn’t have any inconvenient installing imagemagick. Hope this helps.

If you liked this post please leave a comment or consider subscribing.

